Le journal Anchr

How to Read a Turmeric Supplement Label: A Practical Checklist

A step-by-step label checklist with examples, black pepper precautions, a real Anchr blend explanation, and a copyable worksheet.

To read a turmeric supplement label, start with the serving size and then identify what each listed amount measures. Separate turmeric powder or extract from any declared curcuminoids and from the total weight of a blend. Read the other ingredients and warnings, including any black pepper extract, before comparing products.

You can do a useful first pass in a few minutes. Keep the front of the bottle, the Supplement Facts panel, directions, and ingredient list together; each may answer a different question. This guide is published by Anchr Health, which sells a turmeric-containing supplement. It is educational and does not establish an appropriate dose for you.

1. Find the serving size before reading the milligrams

The Supplement Facts panel organizes ingredient quantities around a serving. FDA's labeling guidance also describes how serving information and proprietary blends are presented. Read FDA's nutrition labeling guide.

Suppose a hypothetical bottle contains 60 capsules and defines one serving as two capsules. That is 30 servings. A 600 mg amount listed per serving would correspond to the two-capsule serving, not each capsule. This is arithmetic for understanding the label, not advice to split or change a serving.

For liquids, find the volume in milliliters. Do not assume “one dropper” means the same volume across different products. Follow the bottle's directions and use its measuring information. If the markings or instructions are unclear, ask the manufacturer or a pharmacist before measuring a serving.

Comparing different bottle styles? See how liquid turmeric and capsule servings compare in practice.

2. Read the whole ingredient name

Copy the complete line, not just the word turmeric. Is the ingredient described as powder or extract? Is the plant part identified? Does the line disclose a percentage or weight of curcuminoids? Keep these details attached to the number they describe.

“500 mg turmeric extract” and “500 mg total curcuminoids” should not be entered as the same item in a comparison. If you need a refresher on the terminology, read turmeric versus curcumin.

If an extract ratio is printed, such as a ratio comparing starting botanical material with extract, do not treat it as a curcuminoid percentage. Ask what the ratio means for that preparation and whether the manufacturer provides a separate constituent specification. A calculation only helps when you know what is being calculated.

3. Keep a blend total separate from individual amounts

FDA permits a proprietary blend to show its combined weight while listing its components in descending order by weight. Individual weights for the components of that blend may not be given. See FDA's proprietary blend explanation.

If a hypothetical 1,000 mg blend lists turmeric, ginger, and black pepper extract, you cannot divide by three and assume equal amounts. You also cannot call the entire 1,000 mg “turmeric.” There may simply be insufficient information to make the ingredient-level comparison you want.

Write down the combined amount, list the disclosed components, and mark individual amounts as “not provided” where necessary. The next step is a question to the brand, not an invented estimate. If your clinician needs a specific quantity, a combined blend number may not answer their question.

4. Look specifically for black pepper extract or piperine

These ingredients deserve more than a quick glance. BfR, Germany's Federal Institute for Risk Assessment, explains that isolated piperine in supplements has produced medicine interactions in human studies. A concentrated supplement ingredient is a different exposure from seasoning a meal with pepper. Read BfR's piperine discussion.

If a label lists an amount of black pepper extract, check whether it separately states piperine content. Do not assume the extract weight equals the piperine weight. If neither amount is clear, save the label and request the specification.

Ask your pharmacist to review the actual formula alongside your medicines. Do not change a prescription or invent a dosing schedule to work around a possible interaction. The useful question is whether the combination is appropriate for you.

5. Read “other ingredients” and the directions

FDA explains that ingredients outside the Supplement Facts panel can include water, flavors, stabilizers, and capsule materials. They belong in the label review too. See FDA's label questions and answers.

Check the details relevant to you: capsule material, sweeteners, allergens, flavor, and any dietary preference you need the product to meet. Do not infer an ingredient's absence because a large front label does not mention it. Where an allergy is involved, ask for explicit manufacturer confirmation if anything is unclear.

Next, read storage, handling, and measuring instructions. Keep the packaging so the lot information remains available. If you switch to another size or formula, repeat the review; familiarity with a brand is not a substitute for checking the current bottle.

6. Separate quality language from health claims

“Standardized,” “tested,” and “manufactured in a cGMP facility” address different questions. NIH explains that standardization does not by itself establish product quality, while manufacturing requirements concern matters such as identity, composition, and contamination control. Read NIH's supplement background information.

Ask for the evidence behind the exact phrase. For a testing claim, useful follow-up questions concern the laboratory, batch, substances measured, and reported results. For a health claim, ask whether the finished product was studied and whether the source supports the outcome being described.

You do not need to become a laboratory scientist. You do need to distinguish a claim you can check from a phrase that leaves you guessing. Keep unanswered questions on your comparison sheet.

A real example: Anchr Health Turmeric Herbal Drops

The Anchr Health product page lists a 2 mL serving, a 60 mL bottle, 30 servings, and a 1,500 mg liquid extract blend. Its listed botanicals are turmeric, milk thistle, dandelion root, chamomile, black pepper, ginger, and cayenne.

  • Serving volume: 2 mL.
  • Container volume: 60 mL, corresponding to the stated 30 servings.
  • Blend amount: 1,500 mg per serving.
  • What the blend amount does not establish: 1,500 mg of turmeric, curcumin, or any single botanical.

Use the current bottle's complete Supplement Facts panel and directions for the next step. If an individual ingredient amount or curcuminoid specification is important to your decision and is not disclosed, request that information rather than inferring it from the blend total.

7. Finish with a safety check

A careful label reading cannot establish personal suitability. Turmeric and curcumin supplements carry a rare liver-injury risk. TGA advises avoiding them with current or previous liver problems. Stop the supplement and seek medical advice for symptoms such as yellow skin or eyes, dark urine, loss of appetite, or unusual tiredness. Read TGA's safety advice.

Take the full label to a clinician or pharmacist for questions about your circumstances. That is especially useful when the product combines several botanicals or you already use other supplements.

A turmeric label worksheet you can copy

Download the printable turmeric label comparison worksheet (PDF, 2 pages) to compare three products side by side and record questions for your clinician or pharmacist.

  • Product and formula name: ____________________
  • Serving size and servings per bottle: ____________________
  • Turmeric form and disclosed amount: ____________________
  • Curcuminoid specification, if given: ____________________
  • Combined blend amount, if applicable: ____________________
  • Black pepper extract or piperine information: ____________________
  • Other ingredients and relevant warnings: ____________________
  • Testing documents available: ____________________
  • Questions for the manufacturer or pharmacist: ____________________

Keep “not disclosed” as a valid answer. The purpose of this worksheet is to make uncertainty visible so you can resolve it before choosing. For the wider comparison, continue with our turmeric supplement buying guide.

Frequently asked questions

Can a 1,500 mg blend be called 1,500 mg of curcumin?

No. A combined blend total does not specify the amount of any one component. Curcumin content would need its own supporting information.

Does “Daily Value not established” mean I can take any amount?

No. That label notation does not establish a safe personal dose. Follow the product directions and discuss suitability with your health professional.

What should I do if the online label is unreadable?

Ask the brand for a clear, current label image or specification. Save it before comparing. Small print that cannot be read is missing information for your decision.

Un peu mieux, un jour à la fois.

Retour au journal